• staying busy.
  • Posts
  • Job searching is SCARY + An Autumn walk to remember

Job searching is SCARY + An Autumn walk to remember

staying busy- a weekly dose of positivity + productivity for jobseekers.

New week and spooky szn! ✨ This week, visit a place where you can enjoy the change in seasons.

Let’s get into it this week:

  • Job searching is SCARY

  • Finding Fam: Veni Kunche brings in the season of change

  • Let’s talk about coworker ghosting after layoffs

  • Your next obsession: An Autumn walk to remember

Job searching is SCARY

There’s something about the change in seasons that calls for a sense of reflection and letting go. And in understanding how our present movements through scary, uncertain times can hinder a path forward.

I’ve acknowledged my fears in traversing through a long job search. How will I pay my bills after severance? What things can I comfortably do while finding my next gig? These sorts of thoughts pop up, but in practicing an abundance mindset, I’ve learned to process and let go of them to embrace the unknown in a way that suits my basic needs. If you’re working with the seasonal change to release uncertainty and inspire new energy in your job search, know that embracing the scary through this time of uncertainty can feel really hard to do, but is worth it.

Here’s a few recipes to throw in your boiling pot of job search stew:

Acknowledging job search fear and facing it head on will empower you to reach for your passions and seek the change that your inner you is calling for. How are you moving through the change in seasons? Let me know and I’ll share thoughts in the next newsletter.

The tech industry has been long overdue for change, and in Veni Kunche’s work, she seeks to diversify tech not just for a season, but through constant, intentional change.

Connect with Veni or subscribe to the Diversify Tech newsletter to stay informed on job opportunities for diverse humans!

Let’s talk about coworker ghosting after layoffs

When companies boast how much your coworker community is a family, it may come as a shock that once you leave, you’re sometimes rendered invisible by your former ‘family members’:

Lauren’s thoughts echo some of my own- although I’ve managed to cultivate some amazing friendships with my former colleagues, I’ve learned not to be shocked by the sudden disappearing act of others. If you’re experiencing ghosting after a job transition, know that it’s not you — you’re amazing and worthy of lasting connections that nourish and uplift you.

One of my favorite lazy girl things to do is take virtual walks and explorative, binaural journeys from the comfort of my couch through locations I’ve not yet visited.

During the change in season, take a walk through a leaf-strewn town, enjoying the sights and sounds encountered:

Other beautiful walks of the fall season include Lincoln Park, Richmond at sunset, and Showa Memorial Park.

Happy October! Take a sip of a warming drink and enjoy the week ahead.

Like the newsletter? If you did, share it with a friend, contribute, or buy me a 🍵.