Dealing with REJECTION + Healing with Adriene

staying busy- a weekly dose of positivity + productivity for jobseekers.

New week, new you.✨ This week, dance like no one is watching you, and dance harder if they are.

This week, let’s chat about:

  • Dealing with being rejected

  • Finding Fam: Women Who Code

  • Taking time away without guilt

  • Healing with Adriene is your next obsession

How to deal with being rejected

At this point of my job search, I’ve faced over 100 rejections. They’re stated in many different ways, but all result in the end of consideration for a job I put a tiny bit of hope into, leaving me with a resulting tinge of hurt, frustration, and anxiety. Because my family and livelihood depend on my success, I dust my shoulders off and trudge on, hoping that in a sea of no’s, I’ll receive my yes with the next application.

If this feels like your journey, know that no matter how many times you face it, rejection does hurt, and you’re validated in that emotion. It’s okay to feel the feel, but don’t stop there — job rejections are not personal, although it can totally feel that way.

After taking some time to understand that rejection and the vulnerability that it rears is a natural part of the job search process, finding ways to unpack the energy and move forward with productivity helps me to keep on my path. Understanding the feedback shared, taking time to refresh my skills and learn, and engaging in things that bring me joy during the journey helps me to stay invigorated while fielding rejections.

Here’s some tangible lists that will help you use rejections to thrive:

While I can’t say that I’ve become battle-hardened as it involves job rejections, I can proudly say that they sting a little less and inspire the same hope that I shared when applying toward my next job. Send me a note and let’s talk about how you deal with rejections.

If you’re a female-identified human looking for a group to learn and find support from during your technical pursuits, Women Who Code is a vast community of similar humans working together to help all advance in their careers.

Scholarships, in-person meetups, learning sessions, and mentorship opportunities are some of the few things that Women Who Code share regularly, and there’s a job board available with vetted opportunities based on career level! Join Women Who Code if it resonates with your goals!

Let’s talk about taking breaks without guilt

When you’re actively job searching, the thought of taking a break from it to do something you enjoy may bring up feelings of guilt. Being productive can look different for each person, and balancing job search responsibilities with joy is your right. This short video shares insights to help you release the guilt from your journey:

This deeply helped me to center around finding joy during my job search process and feeling less guilty about indulging. Check it out and let me know what you think.

One of the best ways to refresh your energy is to move your body. Yoga With Adriene is a gentle, calming approach to introducing yoga in your daily life without leaving your home.

If you’re looking for a new routine to get you moving, Yoga With Adriene is a great introduction to peace, mindfulness, and harmony with your body.

That’s it for this week, friends. As always, if you like the newsletter, share it with a friend, contribute, or buy me a 🍵.