On becoming an NPC + The Tiniest Desk

staying busy- a weekly dose of positivity + productivity for jobseekers.

It’s a new week, with new energy to experience!✨ This week, engage in something that’s totally new to you.

In this one:

  • On becoming an NPC

  • Finding Fam: The Superhuman of AI

  • Let’s talk about automating your job search

  • The Tiny Desk- your next obsession

On becoming an NPC…

Over the past few months, I learned that folks on TikTok are becoming NPCs to earn income, emulating the movements of a game character at its starting screen. They perform emotes offered at varying dollar amounts, and go live as an interactive character, with those watching the screen possessing the ability to unlock an interaction through purchasing said emotes.

While my initial feelings were of bewilderment and curiosity, the more I thought about the concept of automating a passive stream of income in this way, the more I realized that as a jobseeker, I do much of the same. I use tools to track and automate the process of looking for and applying to jobs. I confer with ChatGPT about the right way to position my experience for a given job description. Am I also an NPC during the job search?

ChatGPT and other tools offer us countless ways to automate the search process, networking requirement, and even our resumes and personal branding. But as someone who values the humanity in all things, it leaves me to question- how will I continue to show my human skills, effort, and worth while engaging in the tools and processes now expected by prospective companies?

Here’s a few ways to tackle that question:

While we’re not saying ‘ice cream so good’ a few thousand times for income, as jobseekers, we’re automating responsibly while attempting to maintain our humanity and energy. What are some ways you’re finding productivity and automation in your job search? I’d love to learn about your hacks.

Calling all job search heroes- learn to become Superhuman with Awais Khan, who leads superhuman.ai and shares tips and tricks to use AI to automate your job search!

Add Superhuman to your inbox to gain insights on how to use AI responsibly, and how you might integrate some of the tools shared in your journey.

Let’s talk about automating your job search

If you’ve not yet started your deep dive with AI yet, Jeff Su shares a step-by-step tutorial on ways to improve your job search metrics and get closer to your offer in this challenging job market.

This was something I wish I watched sooner, as he shares practical, human focused tips! Check it out and let me know what you think.

NPR is a beloved network sharing thoughtful commentary, news, and insights with smooth, pleasing voices sharing information in a soothing way. Their Tiny Desk Concerts are an extension of this energy and is amazing for finding your next musical obsession!

Some of my favorites include Masego, Juvenile, Usher, Tank and the Bangas, and Yebba. Who are yours? Dig deep into the archives to see if your fav artist has performed- there’s something about the energy of the live bands and the crisp sound that will have you listening all day!

That’s it for this week, friends. As always, if you like the newsletter, share it with a friend, contribute, or buy me a 🍵.